NEWS

3AF 2021 Fall Virtual Summit – November 17, 2021

3AF 2021 Fall Virtual Summit - November 17, 2021

Date:

November 17th
9:00 am - 4:00 pm

Event Details:

SAVE THE DATE: 3AF 2021 Fall Virtual Summit—Navigating Through the New Realities: Census, Recovery and Beyond
When: November 17, 2021
Where: Virtual
When: 9:00 a.m. Pacific to 4 p.m. Pacific/12:00 p.m. Eastern to 7 pm Eastern

Cost: $75 per person

REGISTER HERE: https://attendify.co/3af-fall-2021-virtual-summit-TxePibT

 

 

Session Descriptions

It’s the end of the year, and what a year it was. Despite the challenges of COVID, we’ve all forged ahead, getting used to the “new normal.” Slowly but surely, we hope to move towards recovery. What is on tap for us post-COVID?

What do savvy marketers and media need to be prepared for now? Get ready for a successful 2022 by registering for the 3AF Fall Virtual Summit!
The one-day event will feature the following topics:

1.  Diving into 2020 Census Data: Asian American Research Facts and Figures That Savvy Marketers Need to Know Now
2.  Implications from the Census and Strategies Moving Forward
3. Disrupt Aging
4. Is Cricket a Religion?
5.  Behind the Scenes: 3AF and Ad Council’s Vaccine Education Campaign Collaboration
6.  The Future of Video Advertising – Linear TV, CVT and OTT
7.  Understanding Model Minority Myth
8. AAPI Marketing Leadership: An Industry ERG
9.  And a fun, interactive, virtual networking session featuring a wide variety of topics and host companies

Having problems logging in: 
http://www.3af.org/events/attendee-steps-for-logging-in-to-the-virtual-event-platform-attendify/

Summit Welcome – 12 pm ET / 9am PT
3AF President Indrajit Majumdar and Executive Director Genny Hom-Franzen will provide a quick overview of the day’s agenda and important reminders.

Diving into 2020 Census Data: Asian American Research Facts and Figures That Savvy Marketers Need to Know Now – 12:15 ET / 9:15 am PT
We all know that the decennial Census helps determine some crucial outcomes across the country, including Congressional representation and how billions of federal dollars are spent. But Census data is also extremely critical to marketers. Initial results of the 2020 Census confirms that America is more diverse and more multiracial than ever before. In fact, Asian Americans are now the fastest growing consumer segment. Join Neil Ruiz, associate director of race and ethnicity research at the Pew Research Center, in a deep dive into Census data as it relates specifically to the Asian American consumer segment.
Speaker: Neil G. Ruiz, Associate Director, Race and Ethnicity Research, Pew Research Center

Asian Marketing in the Recovery and Beyond – Implications from the 2020 Census – 1 pm ET / 10 am PT
In this follow-up discussion to the Census presentation, panelists from leading multicultural agencies will discuss the impacts of demographic trends on Asian marketing such as fastest growth, geographical diversity, mixed race and within-group diversity. The discussion will include how these demographic trends impact marketing strategy and media buying as well as opportunities and challenges in Asian marketing.
Moderator: Iris Yim, 3AF Vice President and President, Sparkle Insights
Panelists: Delmus Credle, Head of Strategy, IW Group; Aileen Liao, Group Account Director, TDW+Co; Howard Lichtman. President, Ethnicity Matters; Patricia Ratulangi. VP of Global Communications – DE&I, Nielsen

Disrupt Aging – 2 pm ET / 11 am PT
Join us to learn about how AARP has been working to Disrupt Aging by challenging outdated beliefs and change the way we think about aging.
Moderator: Indrajit Majumdar, Executive VP, Zee TV and 3AF President
Panelists: Karen Chong, Director of Audience and Influencer Engagement, AARP

Is Cricket a Religion? 2:25 pm ET / 11:25 am PT

Cricket is celebrated like a religion in South Asia. People of Indian & South Asian ethnicity residing in North America follow the sport as closely as their family and friends in their country of origin. The fervor and passion aroused are no less than the intensity with which festivals are celebrated. Since the 2022 T20 Cricket World Cup coincides with the Diwali festive season, this talk centers on what your plan should be regarding messaging, media planning & buying at this time of year. Tune in to find out how to capture the best inventory & rates during this unique crescendo of excitement in Oct 2022. If you think it’s too early to start planning, you just might leave this talk with a different opinion!
Speaker: Senthil Govindan, CEO and Founder, Datawrkz

A Behind the Scenes Look at the 3AF and Ad Council’s Vaccine Education Campaign Collaboration 2:45 pm ET / 11:45 am PT
Recently, the 3AF and Ad Council teamed up on an innovative new campaign providing Asian Americans with the information and resources they need to make informed decisions about getting vaccinated against COVID-19. The Ad Council is well known for creating engaging public service communications in times of national crisis, while the 3AF, is the leading organization for Asian media, the conduit to our community. It was a unique and strategic partnership. In this session, speakers from 3AF and the Ad Council will provide an inside look at how this collaboration came to be, campaign results and share some of the campaign spots.
Moderator: Genny Hom-Franzen, Executive Director, 3AF
Panelists: Amanda Kwong, Campaign Manager, Ad Council; Michael Moon, Co-Founder, Prime Image Media; Indrajit Majumdar, Executive VP, Zee TV and 3AF President

Networking

The Future of Video Advertising for Asian Americans Panel Discussion – 4:05 pm ET / 1:05 pm PT
The pandemic has drastically changed US consumers’ media consumption behavior and Asian American consumers is no exception. Video content in all forms has experienced tremendous growth. On this panel, media experts will discuss trends and opportunities in the Asian American video landscape, changes during the pandemic, challenges in planning and purchasing video advertising in the Asian American market as well as video strategy for brands.
Moderator: Michael Lai, Media Director, Media Strategy and Investments, Admerasia
Panelists: Ron Xie, Media Director, AAAZA, Inc.; Vikas Arora, Chief Growth Officer, MIKADO International; Stacy Lee, Associate Media Director, Intertrend Communications

Understanding Model Minority Myth – 4:55 pm ET / 1:55 pm PT
The model minority myth for Asian Americans has existed since the 1960s. It is a notion whose history actually dates back to the 1880s, and it is a byproduct of the colonization of Asian countries and immigration laws in the United States. It is a term often used to point to the success of Asian Americans and also used as a comparison tool. Sadly, these uses of the term are wrongfully directed and misguided. This session does a deep dive in origin of the model minority myth, its complexity and why it does more harm than good.
Speaker: Jay Kim

AAPI Marketing Leadership: An Industry ERG – 5:20 pm ET / 2:20 pm PT
The onset of the pandemic resulted in much hate being channeled toward the AAPI community. A group of AAPI marketers came together to develop a response. What formed was a professional community—and industry ERG—that had never existed before. Elliot Lum will share the story behind this industry ERG, how it got started and how it advances and accelerates visibility for the AAPI community through the power of marketing.
Speaker: Elliot Lum, EVP, Community & Growth, Association of National Advertisers

 

Networking Sponsor:
AARP Logo 2020_Red (002)

Media Sponsor:
Datawrkz Logo (002)